Former Hitmen Awarded WHL Scholarships

Administered by the WHL Office, WHL Scholarships are solely funded by the WHL member Clubs.

Every player who plays in the WHL is eligible to receive the WHL Scholarship. For every season a player plays in the WHL, they receive a guaranteed, full-year WHL Scholarship including tuition, textbooks and compulsory fees to a post-secondary institution of their choice.

The WHL Scholarship is a fully-guaranteed academic scholarship with no requirement to play university hockey to qualify. The WHL graduate can apply the funding to any post-secondary or career-enhancing program of his choice, including trades schools or professional career training programs.

WHL Scholarships awarded to 34 former Hitmen during the 2019-20 academic year

University of Alberta – Edmonton, AB

Brendan Burke – Scottsdale, AZ

Tyler Mrkonjic – St. Albert, AB

University of British Columbia – Vancouver, BC

Jake Kryski –Vancouver, BC

University of Calgary – Calgary, AB

Kaden Elder – Saskatoon, SK

Jaydan Gordon – Cochrane, AB

Ryely McKinstry – Calgary, AB

Nick Sanders – Calgary, AB

University of Lethbridge – Lethbridge, AB

Nik Amundrud – Melfort, SK

Luke Coleman – Red Deer, AB

University of Manitoba – Winnipeg, MB

Drea Esposito – Winnipeg, MB

Dawson Martin – Winnipeg, MB

Lasse Petersen – Swan River, MB

Mount Royal University – Calgary, AB

Andrew Fyten – Didsbury, AB

Connor Rankin – Calgary, AB

University of Regina – Regina, SK

Conner Chaulk – Regina, SK

Terrell Draude – Warman, SK

Bryce Platt – Regina, SK

Brennan Riddle – Balgonie, SK

University of Saskatchewan – Saskatoon, SK

Colby Harmsworth – Saskatoon, SK

Elliott Peterson – Saskatoon, SK

Trinity Western University – Langley, BC

Brayden Brown – Calgary, AB

Acadia University – Wolfville, NS

Loch Morrison – Prince Albert, SK

Jordy Stallard – Brandon, MB

Micheal Zipp – Edmonton, AB

Ryerson University – Toronto, ON

Aaron Hyman – Calgary, AB

University of Waterloo – Waterloo, ON

Trevor Martin – Ardrossan, AB

York University – Toronto, ON

Mack Shields – Saskatoon, SK

Bow Valley College – Calgary, AB

Jakob LaPointe – Leduc, AB

Justice Institute of British Columbia – New Westminster, BC

Jackson Houck – North Vancouver, BC

NAIT – Edmonton, AB

Braden Oleksyn – Saskatoon, SK

Real Estate Council of Alberta – Calgary, AB

Cal Babych – North Vancouver, BC

SAIT Polytechnic – Calgary, AB

Kyle Dumba – Calgary, AB

Brady Reagan – Calgary, AB

Arizona State University – Tempe, AZ

Murphy Stratton – Los Angeles, CA



Photo of York University – Toronto, ON

Mack Shields – Saskatoon, SK

More News
2019-2020 Season Highlights: Adam Kydd
6 days ago
CHL appoints Independent Review Panel
2 weeks ago
Dampy Brar Co Founder of Apna Hockey finalist for this year's Willie O'Ree Award
2 weeks ago
2019-2020 Season Highlights: Brayden Peters
2 weeks ago
Krebs to Join Dinos Men’s Hockey Team
3 weeks ago
HTV: NHL Draft talk with Luke Prokop
3 weeks ago